Lake County, Montana

Treasurer
Vehicle Renewals
The following information is required in order for us to renew your vehicle through the mail:
  • Renewal card and/or previous registration -or-
  • Title number -or-
  • Plate number and/or Vehicle identification number
  • Correct mailing address, if your renewal is completed through the mail, and you do not receive it, there will be a charge to you to replace it
  • Phone number
  • Lake County can accept all major credit cards. An additional 3% of the total will be charged as a convenience fee
  • If you have enclosed a check for the exact amount, please remember to include the $5.50 for new license plates to be mailed
  • If you are going to renew the vehicle in person at our office, please be aware that our office charges a $2.00 search fee if the renewal card, previous registration, title number, plate number or vehicle identification number is not present. Only one of these is necessary
  • Please make sure your plates are clean, warm, and dry before applying the tab Duplicate tab is $10 - no matter the situtation
  • The State of Montana requires vehicles that are issued two plates and must display both plates; the registration sticker should be displayed on the back plate. Law enforcement has suggested the all tabs be removed from the front plate to eliminate confusion.
  • Any required forms can be downloaded from DMV Forms

  • We apologize; there is no way we can give out exact quotes. If you did not receive a renewal card, and are going to renew through the mail or use the drop box, you will have to submit a check made out to Lake County Treasurer with the amount left blank. For safety purposes, please write “For deposit only” on the back of the check under the endorsement line. A vehicle 0-4 years old will be approximately $300.00 to $400.00; vehicles 5-10 years old will be approximately $150.00 to $200.00; vehicles 11 years old or older will be approximately $60.00 to $100.00. These estimations do not apply to vehicles that were valued over 60,000.00 when brand new. They also do not apply to vehicles subject to any tax exemption.



    © Lake County Courthouse
    All information posted on this website is deemed correct at the time of posting.
    Please contact the department head for complete and current information.
    This website is maintained by Lake County I.T.
    Momarazzi Photography on this website are provided by and used with permission under licensing agreement.
    Privacy Policy