Lake County, Montana

Sheriff's Office
Services
Services We offer:
Finger print services
Concealed Weapons Permit
Detention Facility Information
Sex/Violent Offender Registry Information

Finger Print Services:
Lake County Sheriff’s Office offers the service of producing finger print cards.
The service is available the following hours:
Monday 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 & 12:30 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Wednesday No Service Available
Thursday  No Service Available
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Saturday No Service Available
Sunday No Service Available

•  You will need to present a valid current PHOTO I.D.
•  There is a $10.00 CASH fee for 2 print cards and $1.00 for each additional card which you will need to pay at the time your finger prints are done.
•  Law Enforcement Officers are exempt from Print Card fees.
•  Finger Prints are done at the Lake County Detention Facility.

Concealed Weapons Permit:

Proof of Weapon Training Certification; you may use one of the following:
• Military Discharge Form DD214
• Hunter Safety Certificate or proof a certified Weapon-Training
                   You can find your Montana hunter safety certification here
•  A concealed weapons permit from another state may be considered.

Hunter Safety Certification is any one of the following:
•  Completion of a hunter education or safety course approved or conducted by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks, or a similar agency of another state.
•  Completion of a firearms safety or training course approved or conducted by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks, a similar agency of another state, national firearms association, a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, or an organization that uses instructors certified by a national firearms association.
•  Completion of a law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered to or required of public or private law enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by law enforcement agency. A photocopy of a certificate of completion of a course described above, an affidavit from the entity or instructor that conducted the course attesting to the completion of the course, or a copy of any other document that attest to completion of the course and can be verified through contact with the entity or instructor that conducted the course creates a presumption that the applicant has completed a course described above.



Detention Facility:
The Lake County Detention Facility is a minimal security facility. Questions Regarding current inmates or services provided by the Lake County Detention Facility please call: (406) 883-7272. You may also view the daily Detention Roster. Visitation is every Tuesday and Saturday as follows:
Male Inmates 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. You may arrive 15 minutes early to check in
Female Inmates 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. You may arrive 15 minutes early to check in
 
The facility can house up to 42 inmates, has four (4) solitary rooms, one (1) juvenile solitary room, and a recreational area. It is manned by detention officers at all times including one Sergeant during the day and one Corporal during night shifts. Other support staff includes a Control Officer at the front desk handling incoming & outgoing inmates, communication, as well as other daily issues and services. A recreation officer handling AA, Church, and daily exercise. A transport officer who handles the day to day transports of inmates to and from Lake County. A court officer who handles daily Justice Court hearings and weekly District Court hearings. A Sexual & Violent Offender Officer who handles registrations of sexual and violent offenders and their requirements to be in Lake County.

Detention Facility History:
Around 1976, The Lake County Sheriff’s moved the Detention Facility from the North end of the Courthouse basement to the South end creating much needed space. Deputies helped man the (jail) Detention Facility at that time as well. Later, Detention Officers were then hired to man the Detention Facility and worked 12 hour shifts beginning at 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. There was only one (1) Detention Officer on shift and they were responsible for the care of up to and sometimes over eighty (80) inmates at one time.

In March of 1995, an inmate was murdered in Lake County Detention and spurred a law suit by the ACLU and inmates family that changed the course of incarcerations in Lake County. Lake County Detention employed only six (6) Detention Officers at this time. By the end of ligation with the ACLU, Lake County Detention Facility had a minimum of two (2) officers on shift at all times, and the number of inmates due to jail space and man power was limited. The maximum capacity was forty two (42) inmates. Lake County had also built the addition to the Lake County Courthouse which now offered inmates a recreation area for daily exercise and two (2) larger size isolation cells. This addition also created two (2) more stories of office space for the court house.

By late 2010, Lake County Detention Facility had reached it maximum capacity of inmates and staff for the facility. Staff went from six (6) Detention Officers to now twenty (20) Detention Officers Lake County Detention Officers, once hired, are required by Montana Law to attend required State offered training to become a Certified Detention Officer with in one (1) year of employment. Corrections/Detention Officer Basic otherwise known as CDOB is four (4) weeks long and completion of this course is required to maintain employment with Lake County Detention Facility.

Registered Sexual and Violent Offender Registry:

Sex offenders have always lived in our communities. However, it wasn’t until passage of Montana’s Sexual Violent Offender Registry in 1989 (which mandates sex offender registration and community notification) that law enforcement agencies routinely tracked where sex offenders were living. Lake County Sheriff’s Office works in conjunction with Montana’s Department of Justice Division of Criminal Investigation SVOR Unit  in accordance with Montana Law. This information is not intended to create alarm or panic. Our intent is to inform our citizens and enhance community safety and awareness. The Lake County Sheriff’s Office has no legal authority to direct where a sex or violent offender may or may not live unless court ordered restrictions exist.

The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act  is a federal statute and was signed by President George Bush on July 27, 2006. The Walsh Act organizes sex offenders into three tiers and mandates that Tier 3 offenders (the most serious tier) update their whereabouts every three months with lifetime registration requirements. Tier 2 offenders must update their whereabouts every six months with 25 years of registration, and Tier 1 offenders must update their whereabouts every year with 15 years of registration. Failure to register and update information is a felony under the law. The Act also creates a national sex offender registry and instructs each state and territory to apply identical criteria for posting offender data on the Internet (i.e., offender’s name, address, date of birth, place of employment, photograph, etc.). The Act was named for Adam Walsh, a boy who was abducted from a Florida shopping mall and later found murdered.
View and search for offenders
Anyone who uses this information to injure, harass or commit a criminal act against any person may be subject to criminal prosecution

For questions regarding this registry or wish to update your registration, please contact the Lake County Sheriff’s Office Sexual/Violent Offender Registry at (406) 883-7333 or by E-mail. SVOR registration can be done Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.. The Lake County Sheriff’s Office does not charge any fees to the offender to register.

Sexual Offender level definitions:
LEVEL 1- The risk of a repeat sexual offense is low
LEVEL 2 – The risk of a repeat sexual offense is moderate
LEVEL 3 – The risk of a repeat sexual offense is high, there is a threat to public safety, and the evaluator believes that the offender is a sexually violent predator
N = NONE Violent offenders are not given a tier level designation.

Per Montana Code Annotated, 46-23-504, a sexual or violent offender shall register immediately upon conclusion of the sentencing hearing if the offender is not sentenced to confinement. An offender shall at least 10 days prior to release from confinement if sentenced to confinement. An offender shall register within 3 business days of entering a county of this state for the purpose of residing or setting up a temporary residence for 10 days or who is a transient shall register within 3 business days of entering a county of this state.


Registered Sexual and Violent Offender Registry:

Sex offenders have always lived in our communities. However, it wasn’t until passage of Montana’s Sexual Violent Offender Registry in 1989 (which mandates sex offender registration and community notification) that law enforcement agencies routinely tracked where sex offenders were living. Lake County Sheriff’s Office works in conjunction with Montana’s Department of Justice Division of Criminal Investigation SVOR Unit  in accordance with Montana Law. This information is not intended to create alarm or panic. Our intent is to inform our citizens and enhance community safety and awareness. The Lake County Sheriff’s Office has no legal authority to direct where a sex or violent offender may or may not live unless court ordered restrictions exist.

The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act  is a federal statute and was signed by President George Bush on July 27, 2006. The Walsh Act organizes sex offenders into three tiers and mandates that Tier 3 offenders (the most serious tier) update their whereabouts every three months with lifetime registration requirements. Tier 2 offenders must update their whereabouts every six months with 25 years of registration, and Tier 1 offenders must update their whereabouts every year with 15 years of registration. Failure to register and update information is a felony under the law. The Act also creates a national sex offender registry and instructs each state and territory to apply identical criteria for posting offender data on the Internet (i.e., offender’s name, address, date of birth, place of employment, photograph, etc.). The Act was named for Adam Walsh, a boy who was abducted from a Florida shopping mall and later found murdered.
View and search for offenders
Anyone who uses this information to injure, harass or commit a criminal act against any person may be subject to criminal prosecution

For questions regarding this registry or wish to update your registration, please contact the Lake County Sheriff’s Office Sexual/Violent Offender Registry at (406) 883-7333 or by E-mail. SVOR registration can be done Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.. The Lake County Sheriff’s Office does not charge any fees to the offender to register.

Sexual Offender level definitions:
LEVEL 1- The risk of a repeat sexual offense is low
LEVEL 2 – The risk of a repeat sexual offense is moderate
LEVEL 3 – The risk of a repeat sexual offense is high, there is a threat to public safety, and the evaluator believes that the offender is a sexually violent predator
N = NONE Violent offenders are not given a tier level designation.

Per Montana Code Annotated, 46-23-504, a sexual or violent offender shall register immediately upon conclusion of the sentencing hearing if the offender is not sentenced to confinement. An offender shall at least 10 days prior to release from confinement if sentenced to confinement. An offender shall register within 3 business days of entering a county of this state for the purpose of residing or setting up a temporary residence for 10 days or who is a transient shall register within 3 business days of entering a county of this state.

Montana Department of Justice will mail an address verification letter (AVL) to the offenders address. The AVL will be mailed in accordance of designation: Level 3 sexual offenders will be mailed an AVL every 3 months. Level 2 sexual offender will be mailed an AVL every 6 months. Level 1 sexual offender and violent offender will be mailed an AVL each year. The AVL must be signed by the offender and notarized. Sexual offenders are required to deliver in person the AVL to the registering agency, Lake County Sheriff’s Office, if the offender registered in Lake County. Violent offender may mail the AVL back to the Montana Department of Justice, or deliver in person to the registering agency.



© Lake County Courthouse
All information posted on this website is deemed correct at the time of posting.
Please contact the department head for complete and current information.
This website is maintained by Lake County I.T.
Momarazzi Photography on this website are provided by and used with permission under licensing agreement.
Privacy Policy