Clerk & Recorder
We are located on the main floor of the Lake County Courthouse in room 214
We are open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday
with the exception of legal holidays
E-Recording cut-off times are as follows: Plat room documents accepted until 4:00 pm.
The Clerk and Recorder’s Office records or files all public documents pertaining to property in Lake County, as well as various miscellaneous documents.
You can obtain death records for deaths that occurred in Lake County. Statewide death certificates are available at any county Clerk and Recorder in Montana if death occured in 2003 forward.
Certified Death Certificates are available for $5.00.
You can obtain certified birth certificates for $8.00 each at any county Clerk and Recorder in Montana for persons born in the state of Montana.
Montana law allows a certified copy of a birth certificate to be issued to the registrant, the registrant’s spouse, children, grandparents with proof of relationship, or parents. A guardian or an authorized representative may also receive copies upon proof of their authority. FORMER SPOUSES, OR A FATHER WHOSE NAME DOES NOT APPEAR ON THE BIRTH RECORD ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO RECEIVE COPIES.
As of October 2006 identification is required for birth or death certificate requests.
See "Common Downloads" for birth and death certificate request form.
The MT Clerk & Recorder’s Association is taking scholarship applications from graduating seniors. The deadline is 5 pm on March 12th.
Clerk & Recorder - Public Administrator - Auditor - Surveyor
Lake County Courthouse Room 214
106 4th Ave E Polson, MT 59860