Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Find your polling place by visiting the Polling Places map website.
All voters will be required to show one form of identification at the polls on Election Day. Acceptable forms of identification are:
State-issued ID, federal-issued ID, tribal ID, student ID, and military ID.
Yes. Montana law, in combination with the Help America Vote Act, provides alternative options for a person without the required forms of identification to cast their vote. Here is how it works:
You may request an application for an absentee ballot by mail, phone, or in person and you may mail the completed application directly to the election administrator or deliver it in person to the election administrator at :106 Fourth Avenue EPolson, MT 59860
After the close of regular registration, 30 days prior to an election, absentee ballots may be requested in person at the Election Office. Or, current registered voters may submit a request for an absentee ballot for mailing by submitting an Absentee Request in person or via mail.
If you made a mistake on your absentee/mail ballot or on the ballot you received at your polling place, our office urges you to request a new one to ensure your vote is counted.
Absentee voting is when voters receive their official ballots by mail. Individuals must complete the Application for Absentee Ballot in order to receive their voting packet via mail. Voters absent from the polls on Election Day because they are out of town, are ill, or simply prefer the convenience, can still cast their vote with an absentee ballot. Absentee voting is sometimes referred to as "voting by mail" since it allows the individual to cast their ballot from home.
If you think your ballot might not be received by mail on Election Day, you can drop it off at the Lake County Election Office in the Lake County Courthouse at 106 4th Avenue E in Polson, Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm and on Election Day from 7 am to 8 pm. Ballots must be received in the Election Office by 8 pm on Election Day. Do not mail ballots on Election Day they won't reach us in time to be counted.
A federal primary election is held every even-numbered year on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in June. A federal general election is held every even-numbered year on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. The presidential elections are combined with the congressional, statewide, state district, and county elections.
A municipal primary election, if necessary, is held every odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday after the second Monday in September. A municipal general election is held every odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.
Regular registration closes 30 days before any election. Late registration begins the next day, and closes at noon the day before Election Day. Late registration occurs by appearing in person at the Lake County Election office in the Courthouse in Polson.
Yes! If you moved within Lake County you need to re-register by mail or at our office. Please visit our Voter Registration page (PDF) to re-register. If you moved to a different county, you need to register within your new county of residence. Visit the Secretary of State's website to see a complete list of Montana election offices.
In order to verify voter eligibility, our office requires current voter information. See the next FAQ if you recently registered to vote at your local driver's license center.
Voter registration information the driver's license center collects can take two to three weeks to reach the Elections Office. It is best to wait for that time period and then visit the My Voter page to verify if the driver's license center submitted the most recent information. If it is near Election Day and the My Voter page does not reflect your new information, please contact or visit the Lake County Election Office to learn how to register through our office.
Service costs are based on a sliding fee scale, meaning dependent upon how much money you make.
A student? Unemployed? No problem, no one will be denied services due to inability to pay.
We also accept Medicaid and personal insurance.
Donations are encouraged and appreciated and are necessary in keeping our services available!
You are encouraged to make an appointment to save yourself time and frustration. When in doubt, call first. You can always talk to a nurse to find out if a visit is needed. Call ahead when requesting a birth control refill.
There are strict privacy laws regarding medical care. Your care and records are confidential. We need your written permission to share this information with anyone including parents & family members, partners or health care providers outside this Family Planning office.
That being said, it's totally understandable if your parents are worried about you. That's their job! Be sure to talk to them about your healthcare and choices when you are ready. Also, if we know you are being sexually abused by someone who is responsible for you (a parent, guardian, or other adult) we are responsible for helping you.
Great question! Unfortunately, STDs will not show up (on either a test or symptomatically) until at least 2 to 3 weeks after sexual interaction with an infected person. We always recommend using condoms to help reduce your risk of contracting an STD.
Answer goes here...
A junk vehicle defined under MCA 75-10-501, “means a motor vehicle, including component parts:
A vehicle must meet all three parts of the definition to be classified as a junk vehicle.
MCA 15-24-201(4) "Mobile home" means forms of housing known as "trailers", "housetrailers", or "trailer coaches" exceeding 8 feet in width or 45 feet in length, designed to be moved from one place to another by an independent power connected to the mobile home or any trailer, housetrailer, or trailer coach up to 8 feet in width or 45 feet in length used as a principal residence.
MCA 75-10-501(4) "Junk mobile home" means a mobile home as defined in 15-24-201 that is wrecked, ruined, dismantled, or abandoned and is no longer fit for human habitation.
Any motor vehicle in any condition that is not considered a Junk Vehicle according to MCA 75-10-501 (not including boats, motor homes, RV's, trailers, and campers) can be released over to the County JV Program. The owner of the vehicle will be required to fill out and submit a JV and Vehicle Release Form along with title of the vehicle.
Inquiries concerning junk vehicles and vehicles wanting to be removed call the Lake County Environmental Health Department at 406-883-7236.
Contracted Hauler For The Lake County Junk Vehicle Program call Draggin’ Wagon Towing at 406-883-5228.
To remove abandoned vehicles call lake county dispatch at 406-883-7301.
A "Noxious Weed", by definition of the Montana County Noxious Weed Act (PDF), means any exotic plant species established or that may be introduced into the state that may render land unfit for agriculture, forestry, livestock, wildlife, or other beneficial uses or that may harm native plant communities and that is designated as a statewide noxious weed by the rule of the department; or as a district noxious weed by a board, following public notice of intent and public hearing (MCA 7-22-2101).
Weeds are considered one of the most serious threats to natural habitats and resources in the West. Noxious Weeds displace native plants and cause serious economic losses and environmental impacts. Noxious weed establishment reduces range and agricultural land productivity, reduces available forage for wildlife, and negatively impacts aesthetics and recreation. Ecological processes may be negatively affected by the invasion of noxious weeds; for example, Spotted Knapweed forms monocultures that can increase soil erosion. Spotted knapweed infests over 3.8 million acres in Montana, but there are new invaders that have the potential to do even greater ecological and economic damage, such as yellow starthistle.